I want to ask you a couple of questions.

  1. If you quit your job tomorrow, what would you live on?
  2. Why do you work at all?

Over the last few months, I’ve read more than a few websites and articles and now submissions to Rhoda’s consultation. Folk who want prossies to go away support Rhoda’s bill are very fond of reeling off the same old “fact”.

those who sell (sex) need the money, shelter, food, drugs, alcohol.

Women forced into prostitution by poverty

Ok, I’m in the lucky position of not needing alcohol or drugs, but I do need the money and I most definitely do need shelter. I have three children to feed. Are these not the same reasons that everybody gets a job? We are all in the same boat. That’s why it’s called working for a living. It’s because none of us would survive if we didn’t find a way of earning money. That’s why we have a benefits system in this country, because we recognise that people can’t survive on fresh air.

So, yes.

I’m forced into prostitution by poverty. Or if I put that in less feministy, emotive terms.

I was forced to choose a job and work at it, to avoid poverty.

You know.

Just like everybody else.

 

Having nagged you all to sort out your responses to the consultation. I must admit that mine was done, very hurriedly, at the last minute, whilst parked in Asda car park. I used a template from the Scot-PEP website and added some words of my own. I feel a little guilty about this, but in the end it does the job. It puts my name up there as opposing the bill. I mean, let’s face it. No matter what I write, I’m unlikely to change anyone’s mind.

I would just like to say a couple of things to those who support this bill.

When I was deciding how to make a living. My choice was limited by many factors, but most importantly (as in all things), my not wanting to break the law or hurt anybody. I don’t do either of those things, so why can’t you just leave me alone? My decision to work as a prostitute is none of your business, I do not need you to like what I do any more than I would ask your permission to get a tattoo or piercing or consult you if I decided to shave my head.

4 thoughts on “I want to ask you a couple of questions.

  1. Mark Morris (@More_M_photo)

    I’ve never quite understood why there is such a vocal lobby to ban professional sex work, but not one to ban professional boxing. Both involve consensual acts between adults for entertainment, but in boxing the aim is to inflict actual bodily harm. In sex work the aim is to inflict actual bodily pleasure. Why is boxing glorified and sex work not? Does this say something about our society?

  2. Kimjongun

    How I agree with Mark Morris. The OLE purpose of boxing is to batter your opponent senseless. Would anyone become a professional boxing other to escape poverty? But it seems perfectly acceptable to the powers that be to allow this so-called sport and justify it by saying the boxers choose to do it., so it is OK for them to subject themselves to probable brain damage.

Comments are closed.