A Solution?

I’ve been thinking more about the street scene. I posted before that we need to do something… but what?

India Knight wrote a cracking piece for the Sunday Times, which I was so impressed with I sent her an email, but that’s another story. I loved the article, but I don’t entirely agree with it.

Yes, brothels should be legal (subject to rules and regulations), but I don’t think that the utopian ideal of a brothel with outreach workers and access to drugs programs would help all of these street girls. Yes, for those who want to change their lives, this would be a Godsend, but what about the others?

The rest of us may find it difficult to understand, but not everyone wants to give up drugs. Just because we don’t understand or approve of their choice doesn’t mean we should give up on them. They still don’t deserve to be easy pickings for thugs and murderers.

So what do we do?

One thought that was put forward on a message board was to make Heroin available on the NHS. The view was that Heroin addicts are perfectly capable of leading their lives in a normal manner, it’s the illegality which screws everything up. Now whilst I can see the logic of this, I’m not sure I agree. I don’t know enough abut Heroin for a start.

Another person mentioned the “Drive in brothels” in Cologne, so I promptly dived into Google.

Eureka!

City Sets Up Drive-In Brothels

BERLIN (Reuters) – The German city of Cologne has set up drive-in brothels in a bid to move the red light district away from near its landmark cathedral, authorities said.

The complex is located on the outskirts of the city and includes an “approach zone” where clients drive their cars past prostitutes to select them.

When they have made their choice, the prostitute is driven into one of the covered parking spaces adjoining a bedroom with a shower.

“The old red light district was more or less uncontrolled,” a city spokesman said, adding that it had become a blight on the cathedral area with passers-by sometimes mistaken for prostitutes.

The complex is open from 2 p.m. to 2 a.m. Prostitution is legal in Germany and police or city administration officials are on the site, together with a Catholic charity to provide support for the prostitutes, many of whom are drug users.

The project, the first publicly funded scheme of its kind in the country, cost the taxpayer 830,000 marks ($387,100).

That’s inspired!

I can’t see that these girls would shy away from it and think how much safer they would be. It gets my vote.

3 thoughts on “A Solution?

  1. Richard

    Interesting Reuters report (from Berlin, on the other side of Germany) on the Cologne dive-in brothel. The price specified in Marks suggests that this is an old story – Germany has used the Euro since 1 Jan 2002. This facility is NOT listed in the City Guide “Insomnia”, which does list several brothels, FKKs and the Pascha Laufhaus, which is a decent distance out from the Cathedral. I conclude, boringly, that this idea wasn’t a success, and was closed down.

    1. Amanda

      To be honest, I think the situation differs in many ways over there and I’m not at all surprised if that was a failure, but for our purposes over here? I still think that this idea is definitely worth closer inspection.

      1. Richard

        My own opinion (and given that I’m a guest, not a hostess, of limited value) is that the least legislation is the best. We currently suffer from a common law definition of a brothel to be found in (Winter v Woolfe [1931] KB 549), supplemented by (Gorman v Standen, Palace Clarke v Standen (1964) 48 Cr App R 30).. Yes, 1931, before most of us were even thought of!

        If the common law was amended by statute changing the definition from “more than one” to “three or less”, this would permit co-operation for sharing rent/rates etc., self protection and company, but probably be too small an operation to attract organised crime.

Comments are closed.