An Apology

I was just going to reply to this in the comments for my recent post, but in the interests of fairness, I shall put it here for all to see:

I had a comment on my previous post:

I’m in total agreement with you on everything.

Except one thing:

“Commodification? Making up new words are we? ”

The word “commodification” has been around for several years and is in the Oxford English Dictionary.

Harman is certainly silencing, damaging, moralising and a disgrace to the women’s movement, but she is not (as yet) guilty of perpetrating Bush-isms.

[Language nerd slinks away again]

 

Thank you Snowdrop. Having looked it up, I find that the word ‘commodification’ has been in use since 1977 and that I somehow managed to miss it. You learn something new every day. I learned a new word and was reminded not to post in anger. 🙂

So:

I apologise to Ms Harman for my attack on her vocabulary. I was wrong. I’m sorry.

I take nothing else back though. Nada. Zilch, but I refuse to hide this apology in the comments, which is exactly what I believe they would do to me. If I ever got an apology from them at all about anything. Which I seriously doubt.

 

Amanda xx

Quote of the Day:
Intellectual growth should commence at birth and cease only at death.
–Albert Einstein

One thought on “An Apology

  1. SnowdropExplodes

    You’re welcome. As I said, I’m a language nerd, so I actually know what the criteria are for inclusion in the OED (5 independent datable sources using a word, and it qualifies for inclusion, according to the OED website).

    And I remain in full support of your calling out Harman for her attacks on sex workers’ rights.

Comments are closed.